bookF1.com

Shopping Basket

Your basket is empty. Any items you add to your order will appear here.
Prices in

Email Email this page to a friend

Bookmark and Share

UNITED STATES FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX

Below you will find reviews, ratings, and tips on the circuit from other race fans.

Average rating from 201 reviews
 
If you would like to add your own ratings and comments then please click below.
 
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Visiting COTA with an RV


By Ian Slaughter, 16 Nov 2016
We booked an RV from Houston and drove across to COTA arriving on the Thursday afternoon. Accessing the site was easy and there was plenty of room with all the spaces being drive through. The facilities at the campsite were scarce but the circuit was right along side. All in all I would give the RV parking 5 stars!

The circuit was easily accessible and it was quite easy to move around. Louise was concerned that there may not be any vegetarian options from the venders but was pleasantly surprised with the selection available. Prices are about the same as all of the other circuits so no shock there.

Our seats in the turn 9 stand were excellent and we could see a large proportion of the circuit. Our only complaint is that the steps to the stand were staffed on the Friday and Saturday but not the Sunday. This meant that people were walking to the top of the stairs to take photos and blocking our view. Asking people to move out of the way becomes quite tedious after 2 hours of racing. If BookF1 could influence COTA in any way, that would be it.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great atmosphere, but after 5 years I expected better organisation al preparedness


By Mr J R Woodford, 11 Nov 2016
The Corporate hospitality catering/drinks staff were generally good and the food was five-star if at times almost too fancy. But seating shit-fights soured the atmosphere on race-day mainly due to COTA security staff being too polite and afraid to grow a pair when dealing with entitled tools who thought they could "hold" unreserved seating all day for their friends that turned up 30 minutes before the race started. It was somewhat alarming when local armed sheriff's deputies had to be called in to stand guard out on the balcony to stop arguments.

Also, with the Taylor Swift concert on Saturday night - which I had no interest in whatsoever - officious security staff at the VIP entrance for the COTA Club T12 hospitality suite Saturday morning were barring anyone from entering the circuit with an SLR camera - because apparently Taylor is too precious to have unauthorized photography with anything better that a crappy cell phone lens!

Ironically, another patron tipped me off that if I just walked back up the concourse and entered through the main gate with the rest of plebes, security there had no issue whatsoever with my SLR camera, so what is the point of paying $1500 extra for a "better experience" in hospitality suites when that type of idiocy is going on to ruin it for those that do.

Security staff and detail organization in general were the letdowns, and as this was the 5th running of the even you've got to say not good enough in that regard. I certainly expected better - especially considering they did not have the problem this year of bad weather causing havoc.

Also a big thumbs down to team merchandise vendors who only had clothing in men's sizes up to 2XL. I take a US 3XL and missed out accordingly - and I was FAR FAR from the biggest guy at the track. COTA's own merchandise was made in sizes that fit me and as such they and not the F1 teams received my merchandise spend.

One other COTA criticism that stood out after 5 years; not enough public seating in the common areas and NOWHERE near enough shade/cover in a location known for extreme weather.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

3 days at the US GP!


By Vince, 07 Nov 2016
An excellent experience spread over a three day period. Bought a general entry ticket for all three days and supplemented it with a seat in the stand for the Sunday. Access to the circuit from Austin was great, used the shuttle bus from the conference centre (pre weekend offer of $15 each way a bargain) with a short 15 minute walk to the circuit. Food and drink very expensive on site (only 1 bottle of water allowed in) so have a good breakfast before you go! Plenty of vantage points to watch from around the circuit so if you don't mind sitting on grass it's fine. Seat cushions from the concession stands a worthy investment!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fantastic weekend


By Crackers, 05 Nov 2016
The whole facility was fantastic, so much to see and do, fab seating, brill weather, food prices reasonable and parking was a god send. Traffic was handled excellently.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

COTA F1 2016


By Raybe, 04 Nov 2016
Information provided was excellent but would have appreciated some timing of support races which was not available until reaching the circuit and obtaining programme. Security a little over zealous on P1 P2 day, had to throw away sun tan lotion but not on race day! Travel to and from COTA from hotel in North Austin by own car was so easy and well directed, why cant Silverstone be like it?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Good race but not good value


By Ken, 03 Nov 2016
At £500 each these are expensive tickets however the view at turn one is amongst the best I've experienced anywhere. That said it was spoilt by the fact that the security staff kept letting people up who didn't have tickets. I had no problem with this between sessions but they let people up to stand and take photos during the race and meant we missed chunks of the action.

Compared to other events such as Silverstone, Melbourne and Abu Dhabi, where they have made the weekend into an entire event rather than just a race, There was very little in the way of entertainment going on during the day. Taylor Swift and Usher concerts in the evenings were great but seemed to be mostly a way of promoting the event to non f1 people. Many of whom seemed to have bought tickets just to come to the concerts and didn't bother showing up for the racing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

General admission weekend


By F1 fan, 01 Nov 2016
Great weekend. Good view at turn 9 got there early to get a spot and there was a big screen.
Turn one was very busy and not the best view. Turn 4 was also a good spot to watch the race.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Weekend in Austin!


By Ben, 01 Nov 2016
Great circuit and brilliant area, we hired a car and stayed over in sunset Valley rather then Downtown Austin. You lose a bit of the atmosphere (many of the fan bits are in Austin), however it was a 20min drive every morning to the track (pre-paid for parking passes) and was pretty much a straight line. Didn't hit any traffic there or coming back as well. The circuit is well laid out, always bits going on (music, TVs, acts, etc) and didn't queue once for the restrooms and only short queues for bar/food (at the right times).

Turn 9 was a blast, great views of the s-bend and fast straight going into the hairpin, and then limited views of the back-straight.

If you haven't done the USGP I would definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

TOTAL CHAOS. NO STAFF HAVE ANY TAINING OR EVEN KNOW THE CIRCUIT!!


By Bob Pearce, 31 Oct 2016
We queued up for 15 minutes only to be told it was the wrong queue. We then qued again to be told the circuit wasnt open yet. We queued again, finally got in, asked where turn 12 was, no one including those wearing staff T shirts knew. No staff knew where any of the facilites were. I asked 4 people including a "supervisor" if there was a frequecy fot eh comentating for a radio headset I carry, the answer was a joke " errrrr yeah I think so, but I dont know what it is and neither does anyone else". I asked several people but most simply replied " Im not even form around hear" or "I dont even know the circuit my self". Queued for hlaf an hour to get back in the circuit after all the racing had finished only to be told that we needed to queue again outside the circuit to get on a bus to go round the other side "Somewhere"? for the Taylor Swift concert. This hapened to hundreds and hundreds of people as none of the staff had the faintest idea what they were or should of been doing for the entire weekend!!! We were told when booking we had a "SEAT" for the Taylor Swift concert, instead we had to stand. I am disabled so I missed the concert because I had to sit on the grass where you could see nothing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

COTA Review - Fantastic Weekend


By Carolee Johnstone, 31 Oct 2016
Our seats and view of the track and race were excellent. The shuttle bus operation from Toney Burger Center to the drop off point, and back, on Saturday and Sunday was excellent - one of the best organized and run operations I've ever seen. The facility itself was very nice - a special shout out to the porta-potties (hundreds of them), which were (amazingly) very well maintained and clean the whole three days, to the very end. There was a lot of walking, but, for the most part, it was not too onerous. The only negative thing about the facility was the lack of information/communication as to: (1) how to get a taxi or "Uber-type" ride FROM the track on Friday afternoon (we were dropped off at a different place that morning); and (2) how to get to the General Admission entry to the grassy hill for the Taylor Swift concert. Both ended up involving A LOT of walking, and NO ONE (e.g., security people and other staff) seemed to know what was going on. Turned out many of them did not work directly for COTA, and no one had bothered to tell them what was going on. It all turned out okay in the end, but it was quite frustrating in the meantime. Bottom line - we had a wonderful time, and I got A LOT of steps on my FitBit - and Lewis won! YEA!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

US F1 GRAND PRIX 2016


By Zaheem, 28 Oct 2016
View from Row 32 was incredible, definitely worth the money. Overall it was a great experience to be there over the race weekend. The atmosphere was fun and there were great performances from Taylor Swift and Usher.

The only advice I would give would be to plan how you are getting to and from the circuit well in advance. It was impossible getting a taxi back after the performances. I would recommend getting one of the shuttles which drop you a 15 minute walk away from the circuit and cost $20 per person per day. Or better still, invest in parking (around $100-$125 for the 3 days).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Cannot recommend The Owners Club.


By HK Fan, 28 Oct 2016
My previous trip to COTA was in 2013 when I purchased a Paddock Club ticket. Thoroughly enjoyed it but wanting a different view this time, I opted for The Owners Club. Mistake.
Overall the space is OK, but not comparable to the Paddock Club facilities. The food especially was pretty poor.
Biggest gripe? No large screen TV's viewable at all. Only option for following the race on circuit were 3 small TV's in the lounge upstairs, or 6 small TV's on the lower level. However, not a single TV allowed for real time outdoor viewing and following the action elsewhere.
My own fault as I should have taken more care in choosing my location, but for anyone considering the Owners Club in future, beware. It really falls short of expectations for the price paid.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Weekend


By RJV, 28 Oct 2016
This was a dream come true. Great weekend. Will be back next year. The ONLY negative things I can think of is that I am a Ferrari fan and we did not book a parking spot. Next year..
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

US F1 GP COTA


By John Reese, 27 Oct 2016
Wow.. My first live F1 race. Our whole event from start to finish was perfect The track was as beautiful as it is on TV.

The track staff and the people of Austin were as good as it gets. Thanks all!!

The best event I've attended in many years!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Spectacular view


By MJ, 27 Oct 2016
Of all the races i attended, circuit of the americas has a beautiful layout, the view from turn 9 was spectacular. You can see the cars as far as from turn 7 till down the straight line from turn 11 to 12 including the overtaking at turn 11. This give you a clear 35 seconds of cars viewing.
The transport from Austin downtown to the circuit was bit expensive, $50.00 for a return trip per day
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
 

Texas is beautiful at COTA


By Dick Downs, 26 Oct 2016
This year surly made up for last, the weather was absolutely perfect. COTA is a beautiful facility and fully met my expectations. In addition to F1 Racing the star cast performance venue topped off the weekend. Great variety of food and drink as well. WELL DONE COTA and BOOK F1.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

An excellent venue.possibly the best we have visited.


By Richard Beardmore , 26 Oct 2016
Those Texans sure know how to party! Everything about the venue and downtown Austin is wonderful. My only criticism would be insufficient toilets in the main plaza, but apart from that it was faultless.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Cota experience at GP of US


By Darcy M, 26 Oct 2016
First off, the COTA area is a very good area to view the race with unobstructed views of Turns 12 thru 15 and the braking area before 12 after the DRS zone down the back straight. Lots of good overtaking possibilities. OK views of turn 1, the S's and turn 9.
The COTA club was comfortable, the people friendly and the food and beverages always available and of good quality. The major problem is the lack of outdoor seating to view the races. Assigned seating outside may be the only option to improve this and avoid having people paying so much and then having to watch from a TV in the lounge area. The VIP entrance opened at 9 but oddly there were already 20 to 30 people inside the COTA lounge before the gates open and they occupied most of the best viewing areas outside!!!! Shuttle service is good and reliable. If you drive it is easy to get to the track but traffic control is a little chaotic, get there early!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Very good


By Yamamoto, 26 Oct 2016
Was very nice
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Very good


By Yamamoto, 26 Oct 2016
Was very nice
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We accept American Express, JCB, MasterCard, Maestro, Visa, Visa Debit/Delta, and Visa Electron, and PayPal