bookF1.com

Shopping Basket

Your basket is empty. Any items you add to your order will appear here.
Prices in

Email Email this page to a friend

Bookmark and Share

BELGIAN FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX

Below you will find reviews, ratings, and tips on the circuit from other race fans.

5 star
 
531
4 star
 
452
3 star
 
150
2 star
 
40
1 star
 
36
Average rating from 1209 reviews
 
If you would like to add your own ratings and comments then please click below.
 
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Awesome ....as always ! Been going for 10yrs ! Love it !


By Karlos H , 16 Oct 2016
The only a few critasims I have is that a little respect like flowers on the Senna head stone to commemorate the F1 legend ( not the real head stone obviously )

And the final lap - all drivers waved straight to the pits - after the cross the finish line !

The Thursday Pit walk - changes yet again and not able to get any signatures !

Still an awesome event though ..

The main village area was the best it's been for years - but to buy 6 tokens for 20€ was a bit steep on most items - 5€ for a can of beer and about £4.50 for a calipo ice lolly ...

All the outside stalls removed this year due to security being increased and The Millitary with vehicles on the main gates -

A Great Weekend with loads of Dutch Fans making the event a sell out and a sea of orange brightened the weekend ��������
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Spa 2016


By Terry, 10 Oct 2016
Not being a fan of Formula one I have now been twice to the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa. The reason is my girlfriend is an avid fan of F1 and in particular a guy called Sebastian Vettel. I must admit he comes across as probably one of the nicest racing drivers and is quite funny, just the impression you get when I have seen him being interviewed. The seats in Gold 1 earned me loads of points with my partner and I was impressed too. We stayed at Elephant camping a short walk from the main entrance and run by some nice guys. A good mix of fans from all over Europe instead of just English made it a good place to stay and camp in our camper. Bookf1 sent through tickets in good time and the experience in the pit lane stand in Gold1 was better than getting up at an early hour to get a good spot on the banks in general admission. On race day this year we had a seat so no rush to get to the track at 7 am and strolled in at around 11am instead. We got a drink had a look at overpriced merchandise and took a gentle walk to the stand. We had spotted the seats from pit lane walk on Thursday so knew we had been allocated great seats by bookf1 for the action on all three days. I cannot stress enough that having seats is by far a more pleasurable experience than getting up too early and rushing to the track on your days off. So for a race fan and non race person seats are the best way to enjoy the experience. We arrived back at the camp site without being to tired to enjoy a relaxing evening with a cool beer and glass of wine out of the fridge. I may even treat her to Monza next year and will likely book through this site after lots of homework on where best to stay and of course which seats to try for at the track. Thanks bookf1 for the good seats this year.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Very Poor


By Mike The Swede, 30 Sep 2016
I don't know how to start. Spa is a great track just a shame that the Belgians are hell bent at being better than the French in not being able to organise a piss up in a brewery. after being to 4 F1 tracks a in the last 5 years and seeing prices go up massively this was the final straw for us no more F1. The facilities lets start there. unless you got some vouchers it was impossible to get food inside the track, then a waffle with ice cream was € and a burger €14 so bring your own food. Our ticket for Eau Rouge cost over £300 per person and for a stand with 2300 capacity (mostly men of course) there was 1 toilet and 3 urinals to be used at the slight cost of 70 cent. no food but the stand that was available about 5 min away so not a problem. at the stands we could buy one type of alcoholic drink Heineken Beer (€5 for a can, Sat and Sun it was warm because they ran out of ice) I did not see a any other alcoholic drinks being sold anywhere else on the track and heard a woman really complaining she was unable to find a glass of wine once inside. Entry to track: We stayed about 4-5 km from the track (expect to walk back Sunday after race as roads are grid locked) but when arriving on all three days there was a queue to enter the track of at least 30 min, Sunday over 1h and we got there 8 am. 3 entry slots to track where 3 people checking your bags and about 20 000 people coming through this entrance as a lot of the temporary campsites are around there, sadly I cant remember the name but is opposite Eau rouge on the other side of the track. As Spa is a big track area wise (much bigger than Silverstone) there is rods and walkways inside the track so you don't have to walk around. On Sunday after race they close these adding easy 2-3km to your walk to the exit so my word of advise is make sure you pick your accommodation on the same side as your stand. otherwise you have a long walk. So unless you are prepared to carry all your food and drinks to the track and can hold your bladder for 10h whilst drinking. Go somewhere else. Me and my friend are going to USA for a week and watch 5 NHL games it will cost us about the same as a F1 weekend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

A disappointing weekend


By Derrick Smith, 26 Sep 2016
Car park too far away to walk with a bad ankle.
Poor view of track from front row of stand due to crowd and wire netting.
These factors plus hot weather made me decide not to attend for actual race day. I preferred to waste my ticket and watch the race on tv.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Dream seat's. ... Afraid not!


By John Cole, 22 Sep 2016
We stayed in Monschau (what an amazing place, just perfect) we drove into the circuit each day without fuss, we arrived at the mighty Eau Rouge grandstand for Friday pracrice, wow what a view, this is going to be amazing I thought. Then everyone sat down and here is where the problems began. The stand is built on such a shallow angle that the 2 or 3 rows in front of you vastly block the view of the action. This is also the 1st grandstand I have sat in that has a wire fence in front of it along with roadsigns!
Needless to say that my dream F1 weekend watching from the might Eau Rouge grandstand was a massive dissapiontment, i would definately not recconmend buying these seats, they ade simply not worth the £400 askong price. If you want to risk it i would definately reconmend trying to request seats within the first 10 rows.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Belgium GP 2016


By MB, 22 Sep 2016

Last visited Spa in 2014 and went back again this year and had had a great weekend! Whilst I agree with some of the comments put on here I thought I would put forward my thoughts just in case other reviews put other people off.........

Access into circuit

In 2014 there were two entrances into the circuit at Les Combes whereas this year there was just one. Whilst some might be frustrated by this it was done for good reasoning and it was purely for peoples safety. After the recent terror attacks in europe you could they wanted to avoid large groups of people congregating on or near roads. This is why they shut off one of the entrances and put down the big bags of stone to stop any vehicles from entering the areas where you queued to get into the circuit. I think we need to be a bit more sympathetic in light of the high terror level in Belgium and also the very high attendance this year.



No of people attending

There were a lot of people this year much more than we experienced back in 2014 when Max wasn't on the scene. I personally think the organisers slightly oversold the event particularly on the General Admission ticket. Friday was easily accessible as numbers were lower than Saturday or Sunday. TBH you really need to know where you want to sit on Saturday and Sunday and be up in good time to queue and get to your spot as quickly as you can. We did this and didn't have any issues, you cant expect to buy a bronze ticket and rock up mid morning and expect to get into the circuit and get a good spot. The biggest gripe I have is the lack of spectator marshalls at this event. The biggest problem we had was with Dutch fans who couldn't be bothered to queue and expected to arrive at 12pm pi%$ed after the night before thinking they could stand or sit right in front of you. For those who have been up in the early hours to get a good spot this is very unfair and we need some protection to stop this from happening. Trust me we didn't make it easy for the few that thought they could get in front of us, but it could've very easily escalated.

The Circuit

The circuit itself is absolutely stunning and really is a joy to take in particularity over the weekend of weather we had. I have read a bit about access paths need improving and some areas of the circuit need opening up etc. I personally think its fine as it is and we need to remember the fact the circuit is in the middle of the ardennes forest which is its biggest appeal. They are not going to start slapping more concrete down to make pathways or viewing areas any better than they already are.

Exiting the Circuit

We stayed trackside for about 30 mins after the race then decided to leave the circuit, we camped overnight anyway so didn't need to rush out. It was busy leaving, but I noticed they did open up more exits to help the congestion. We got out without any dramas. We could see how bad the traffic was getting out of the circuit when we got back to our tent and it did'nt move for a few hours. I would recommend staying over on that Sunday because like most big events its a lottery getting out. I read on here that some guy was annoyed at the time it took to get out and was seeking some sort of compensation. Good luck with that mate, I got stuck for 3 hours getting out of the NEC last week, do you think they will give me some compensation for my time and money spent on food etc. Nope! The fact is that because of the Max factor this is what the GP will be like for many years to come. Stay over on the Sunday night and have a leisurely drive back to your ferry on Monday.

Overall

For me Spa is a must for any fan of F1. Although there were lots more people this year it didn't spoil the weekend for us. If you plan ahead and allow plenty of time you wont be disappointed with the whole experience. We will be back in 2017.



Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Disabled


By Sue Reynolds, 21 Sep 2016
Although we had a fantastic day, it was spoilt by no supervision on the podium. There were families with brollies/parasols with only 1 disabled person in their group which meant many of us either couldn't get on the podium or was so far back visibility was terrible with the obstuctions or not getting to the front, which in my opinion was only the place you could see. The toilet went down a slope so when coming off the gravel you basically slide to the back of the cubical. I feel it would be much better if the podium had tiers least everyone has the same view should you arrive later than others
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Another great year at SPA


By Dianne & Mike, 19 Sep 2016
In 2010 we went to SPA with BookF1 and have been back every year since. They provide great service. This year's race was brilliant - we were in Gold 9 for the first time. I struggled to see much from my seat but my husband was happy with his and I was happy to stand for the duration of the race and had a brilliant view of the pits and down to La Source. Agree with other comments this year on the voucher system for food. We just took our own which we would recommend anyone else to do if they can.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great track, good facilities and good expreience for an F1 newbie.


By New F1 fan!, 16 Sep 2016
This was my 1st time at an F1 race, I thought I was just in for a sunbathing day whilst my partner watched the race, but I was wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed the day, the race and the atmosphere! We were lucky enough to get ourselves a space to sit on the bank so could see a good stretch from the pit lanes then up the hill and around a corner. Some viewing elsewhere on the track wasn't great but we preserved, walked on a bit more then found a great spot!
The atmosphere around us was brilliant and very friendly. I couldn't get over how nice everyone was.. my partner thought I was mad!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Beautiful setting, expensive weekend away!


By TanyaPrior, 15 Sep 2016
As a fan of F1, you can never complain about having an excellent view into the pits.
The things I find troubling are when every single cent is squeezed out of people to use the rest rooms etc. Even in the Gold ticket areas....
Food and beverage prices were expectedly high, so there were lots of people who really appreciated being able to take in their own refreshments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Belg GP 2016


By AJ, 12 Sep 2016
Good weekend
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Weekend at the Belgian F1 Grand Prix


By Dave, 11 Sep 2016
Overall our party of four had an excellent weekend with accommodation close to the circuit, great access and value for money tickets. I was unexpectedly on crutches for the trip having recently snapped my Achilles' Tendon thus was apprehensive about the race weekend but the access to the circuit was wonderful, with the parking guides noting my limited mobility and providing us with close parking and even lifts to the circuit. All of the staff we encountered were simply incredible and very helpful. My only criticism was the rather limited choice of food available at the circuit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Legendary race and a must-see for F1 fans


By Dave M, 11 Sep 2016
A couple of us finally made the journey to Spa after years of saying we'd go and not doing it. From the UK it's actually really straightforward - we travelled by L'Shuttle on Friday night, stayed in a cheap (and rather grotty) hotel nr Calais, got up early Saturday and drove to Spa, leaving about half seven. Traffic was bad once we turned off the motorway but we expected that. Queues all the way. Yellow campsite wasn't well signposted but we found it no problem - BUT, even though we'd already paid, the guy on the gate took a E20 deposit on arrival, which we knew we'd not get back (sure enough when we left, there was no-one around). Campsite facilities basic but we expected that too so it was fine. And an easy walk through the village to the circuit - deli on the corner by the traffic lights and the pub does really nice baguettes, don't bother with the little bakery nr the campsite. Apparently it was a bigger crowd than normal thanks partly to the huge Verstappen support. The circuit twists it's way through the forest, unlike eg Silverstone, which is in a huge open area. You think the British GP is crowded? There are parts of Spa that have very narrow access, made worse by people standing and sitting watching the racing, so be prepared for bottlenecks. Also, it is hilly and the footpaths are rough in places.
Not cheap, esp soft drinks and water. Beer Euro5 for a large can of Jupiler, which was fine. Food typically overpriced. General Admission tickets are good value here, we didn't pitch our spot and stay there, just wandered around until we found somewhere good - saw qualifying from the top of Eau Rouge and the race from a good spot up in the woods above the bus stop chicane (good shelter from the fierce sun we had all weekend). And there's always some kind of drama at Spa - we got the 2 Ferrari + Red Bull coming together, Magnusson's huge crash and of course Hamilton getting third after starting on the back row. I'd definitely go again, the location is lovely and the atmosphere terrific.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Comments


By Richard, 10 Sep 2016
The food and drink in the circuit is expensive.Try and pre book your parking and enter the circuit from Stavelot it will save you a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fantastic weekend


By Tony , 10 Sep 2016
Another fantastic weekend vnue
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Third time and didn't dissappoint


By Charlie Collins, 10 Sep 2016
This year was my third visit to the Belgium Grand Prix and chose La Source (after meeting three Belgium guys in 2012 that have become firm friends) who recommended La Source and was not disappointed with view of the start / finish straight and the run down to Eau Rouge. Block B is the best view and the higher the better; I was in Block A Row 7 and fencing partially blocked views. Block B gets clear view all the way down the pit lane and you need to be about Row 10 to get unfettered views of the track. Having said that I wasn't disappointed!

They have moved the camp site this year and the new location wasn't great, also stewards their were aggressive and miserable, which was a shame.

This years event was subdued in comparison the the last two visits, due to high terrorist threat. The pit walk was extremely busy, with huge support from Dutch fans of Max Verstappen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

4 star but could do better


By PJ, 09 Sep 2016
The setting for the Belgium Formula 1 Grand Prix, in the Ardennes region of the country is a highlight. The race track is awesome, fast straights, twists and curves and the changes in altitude are not fully appreciated when viewing on the TV. For a bronze general admission ticket there are some good viewing points but on race day you need to get there extra early to be sure of a good spot. We camped at the Green camping near Les Combes. You need to be prepared for noise into the early hours, loud music, fireworks and general revelry but on the whole it was all good humoured. The showers were okay, a small charge of 3 euro levied. The toilets, however, were an absolute disgrace, they needed to be more of them and more regularly emptied. We queued on race day for an hour and a half from 7.30am to 9.00am to enter the circuit at les Combes. The queue was poorly managed, the volume of people at that point being a factor and also the necessity for security. General facilities in race track good, food prices high, take a pack up I would suggest. General admission, bronze ticked, advised to take a small fold away stool / chair to sit on. Given 4 star, iconic venue and track and I had an enjoyable time but could do better in some areas.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

.


By Alan Campbell , 09 Sep 2016
Had terrible problems getting to our suite after arriving at the circuit. None of the officials knew were it was and we were twice sent in completely the wrong direction resulting in us arriving at the suite over an hour late. A complete disaster.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

2016 Belgian F1


By Ross White, 08 Sep 2016
The only way to experience the track to its fullest is with a general admission ticket. Definitely bring some type of a folding chair however! Stay as close to the track as you can because traffic is awful and you end up doing a lot of walking anyhow. Cash is a must as none of the food/drink vendors take credit cards. There are also no cash points inside the circuit which is not very convenient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fantastic weekend, just very hot!


By Vicki, 07 Sep 2016
We had a brilliant time. I cannot stress enough that you need to be in Gold 1 so that you can enjoy all of the pit stops and see a lot more action than walking around
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We accept American Express, JCB, MasterCard, Maestro, Visa, Visa Debit/Delta, and Visa Electron, and PayPal