bookF1.com

Shopping Basket

Your basket is empty. Any items you add to your order will appear here.
Prices in

Email Email this page to a friend

Bookmark and Share

BAHRAIN FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX

Below you will find reviews, ratings, and tips on the circuit from other race fans.

Average rating from 55 reviews
 
If you would like to add your own ratings and comments then please click below.
 
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

wow! great race, well organised,


By josh smith, 13 Apr 2016
easy access to the track
well organised transportation/infrastructure
easy in & out
no need to go friday not much going on
weekend was good as were the seats
complaint about the facilities - toilets come 7pm sunday are disgusting and out of soap and towels
the eateries around the track, the best and majority are at the other end to turn 1 what is near turn 1 is a burger shack, that is it
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Experience, Shame about the Result


By Masud, 11 Apr 2016
Great experience for my son and I. We booked late but bookF1 were great with their ticketing and sent through e-tickets which were accepted on all but one earlier checkpoint. Managed the Pit Lane walk on Thursday in the rain, yes in BahRAIN, selfies and handshakes with Lewis, Nico and Cecco made it worthwhile.

More selfies and handshakes with Seb, Kimi (he managed a 1/8th smile!) and local lad Jollian P on Saturday. Another great day at the races.

Not much to say about the race itself, except Lewis needs to learn some clutch control and put pedal to the metal quicker. Great Experience, may return to Bahrain next year, will certainly use bookF1 again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Better and Cheaper than Silverstone


By Martin, 09 Apr 2016
Booked tickets and arrived no problem, received courtesy email that they were on their way, nice touch. We had tickets for turn 1, good view of the track, only one big screen though.

Bahrain has Dinars as currency, exchange rate is £2 to 1 dinar, exchanged in UK at post office, had to order as not a standard currency. Exchange rate in Heathrow was terrible, in Bahrain is was a little worse that UK BUT they do a buy back with same exchange rate with no commission. Takes a bit of getting used to the prices as they look good then you realise you have to double the price to convert to GBP.

Looked on websites and it says in Bahrain you need a visa, can obtain online or visa on arrival, costing £50. BUT as you are a F1 fan you get a free visa on arrival, 4 special lanes in arrivals with big Red placards above the lanes. The visa cost is included in the ticket price. Have the tickets with you in hand luggage if you can't show them you will have to buy a visa.

Also included in the ticket price is the cost of the shuttle buses, they start running from Airport to hotels from the Monday before the race. After race they run from hotels to Airport up until Monday after the race. If you want to book a taxi in airport Manama is in zones, to zone A where we stayed 7 Dinar.

We were advised to book hotel in Juffair, good area for expats and has street called American Alley, about 200 yds of shops, restaurants and take aways. End of the street is Mega Market, first floor is Tesco, anything you forgot is in here.
Also has Juffair mall, 4 floors of shopping with food court and games zone of fifth floor.

Hotels that have shuttle buses: RAMEE GRAND, GULF HOTEL, DIPLOMAT RADISON, RITZ CARLTON, INTERCONTINENTAL REGENCY, SOFITEL HOTEL, FOUR SEASONS HOTEL, DOWNTOWN ROTANA, RAMADA HOTEL, K HOTEL, BESTWESTERN, plus OLIVE.

You don't need to stay in one of these hotels to use shuttle buses, you can book a hotel close by and at shuttle bus hotel show them your track ticket or voucher. The buses are well organised, at every hotel is someone organising them, they call the other hotels and then route the buses to fill them as much as they can.

After race head to shuttle bus park, many people there waiting, tell them your hotel and they will direct you to correct bus, ours was K Hotel and filled quickly and pulled out with a shuttle bus behind us which took our slot and started filling up again. Very efficient, after race the roads are made one way so traffic moves from track at a decent rate.

Airport style security at all entrance gates, all bags scanned, no food or drinks allowed, inside there are many catering stalls. Friday we queued for 20 minutes and got served under cooked burgers from next to BIC building. We then walked past the main grandstand where there are 16 food, drink, beverage outlets, foods 3.5 Dinar, so £7.00 and as bit overpriced but everything here is expensive. Team merchandise expensive too, old hats for Brawn and Caterham were £20.00, major team baseball caps £40.

Alcohol is not available in supermarkets or restaurants, there are several bars close by, Rockys Cafe be careful as tried to charge me £6.00 for a can of coke. Bottles of Bud £7.00, draft Bud £9.00 a pint, cheapest beer we found was Henrys Bar just outside Juffair at £7.00 a pint and most expensive was K Hotel at £12.00 a pint. If you like a drink buy from Heathrow duty free.

Weather is hot but it did rain three times while we were there.

Overall with ticket prices for Grandstand, cheap flights from Heathrow, sensible priced hotels and free shuttle buses which make it a cheaper alternative to other F1 Weekends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

5 Star Event


By Dave R., 05 Apr 2016
An excellent package, very well organised by BIC. Staff courteous and friendly, outstanding policing and traffic management.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Very enjoyable event!


By Tomas, 05 Apr 2016
Essentially a classy and well managed event.
I sense there are 2 (main) areas that could be improved upon:

1. Shuttle Bus Service
I visited the track several times Saturday & Sunday. My 1st visit was by way of the advertised 'shuttle bus service'. With a Gold Card in my possession I assumed a professional if not luxurious transportation option was in the offing. I could not have been more wrong. The old (& not very clean) bus stopped at 3 other hotels after picking me up. Then drive straight past the ticket collection area to the track (I remonstrated to the driver to stop). I then waited a further 25 minutes to go back to the ticket collection area. There, the staff were more attached to their personal iPhones than the arriving customers. After this delayed service I awaited another 20 minutes for transport back to the track. Upon arrival I asked the driver as to where I should go re:Paddock Club - clueless. Since there was no signage in this area I wondered around..,After asking a few more 'officials' I found the Club. Total time - a little over 2 wasted hours.
The return journey: since I could not find a cab in the immediate area, I went back to the bus assembly area. I enquired about a bus back to my hotel, the 4 Seasons. I was told, by 3 different individuals, that it would be in 'about 1 hour'. I stated clearly that bus s are supposed to depart every 30 minutes. Yes, but... I understood that the bus organizers wanted the buses to fill up before departing, hence the schedule now was not the issue, but bus capacity. No one was willing to address the issue, even this white-shirted 'BahrainGP' officials at the bus assembly point. After an uncomfortable wait in the sun, a bus departed, went straight past my hotel, and dropped people off an 3 other inner city hotels. Total (wasted) time, 2 & half hours.
Bottom line:
it needs to be clearly written that the buses go to several hotels.
the order of hotel pick-up/drop off needs to be defined.
buses need to be clean & to operate according to a clear schedule.
It goes without saying that all further visits to/from the track was by way of a hotel-arranged private limo.

2. Smoking area at least the facility:
I understand the whole health issue, as well as the safety matter.
However, many people were smoking, a fact.
Would it to too much to ask that such paying clients receive an appropriate area in which to do so, instead of being shunted to & fro from here and there, or being bundled into a small verandah area near the Oaddock Club steps?

Again, I focus on the 2 'annoying' matters, otherwise it was thoroughly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Well done on both parts, ticket/parking, and at/on track venues


By Michael Seiver, 04 Apr 2016
My initial dealings with bookF1, left me wondering about the whole deal. The putting off of ticket delivery dates several times did not inspire confidence. Prior dealings with you delivery company put me on hi alert for "on time" delivery 3 days before my departure. I'm glad to say that all went well and the delivery was on time, as were the parking passes which I had to have delivered to Bahrain.

I would again order tickets from your organization. The track offered many fan and family options, as well as great racing and organization. Parking, entering and exiting the track were exceptionally well handled.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

-


By -, 04 Apr 2016
-
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Better than expected in Bahrain


By Leigh Barratt, 04 Apr 2016
To be honest I had pretty low expectations for Bahrain. That said the Sunday actually delivered a pretty good experience. Grandstands mostly filled and the crowd was fairly animated. Certainly not anywhere as good as a Europian event but not bad.

The view from the University stands gave as some good overtakes and under lights with the new titanium skid blocks the Sparks looked fantastic. Unfortunately circuit organisers placed the only screen for the 3 grandstands too far away and behind a light massive pole. Up there for thinking right?

Wifi was avaliable only in near the main grandstand so we couldn't use the F1 app to follow the race which was frustrating.

Free shuttles operated from the airport, hotels and track which was excellent but leaving on these was chaos due to the complete lack of organisation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fantastic views over turn 1. Perfect seats


By Michele migliavacca, 04 Apr 2016
I had a great ticket. Even better than what I had expected
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Excellent F1 experience


By Luci, 02 May 2015
Car hire is best. Adhere to restrictions as they will delay entry to circuit, I.e. No Mirrors, water, etc. Very hot at times, so be prepared. Gulf air tent wasn't really necessary, but came in handy in between sessions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

This is all about the position


By Steve holmes, 23 Apr 2015
The seat position was not good it was next to a staircase leading to and from the grand stand at best the staircase frame was blocking the view on the right side but with so many people in and out and standing in front of staircase taking photos it was impossible to sit and watch the race.
I will be back next year but I need to be row H at the back which I asked for this year
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Beer Garden


By Kevin Winn - U.K, 21 Apr 2015
The Bahrain Grand Prix is a credit to the organisers, with free Shuttle Buses laid on to the venue from City Centre Hotels, the entertainment at the Venue was good but disappointingly there was nowhere, without paying an extortianate fee into the Tent, could you get a Beer, whilst Beer is sold openly in Bahrain the lack of a Beer Garden where People can sit and socialise pre-race is a negative that the Race Authorities should look at, Abu Dhabi for example.
Otherwise it is well organised.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

First F1 GP


By Martin, 20 Apr 2015
Finally got to see a GP and was not disappointed. What a fantastic time and TV does not do it justice. Looking forward to the Abu Dhabi F1 GP.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

1st Bahrain GP


By Ian, 20 Apr 2015
Great event with plenty of stand space, many seats empty in all stands we could see. People were optimising their view utilizing the empty seats.

Food & Beverage at University area is limited to water, soft drinks & ice cream! Not good as the main area behind the start/finish straight is about a 10/15mins walk. Main area had great seating areas with plenty of food and drink choice. Strolling entertainment was fun. Only alcohol was sold in the Gulf Air hospitality tent the furthest point from University stands past the main grand stand, did not bother as the cost of an entry ticket would have doubled our ticket costs.

Airport type security on entry.

Stage show Saturday night was great and not too crowded.

Paper ticket holders only allowed to use gates 7 or 10 to exit track.

Parking is good but a 10mins shuttle to the track and the return at the end of the day varied from 30mins to being evicted by a busy road and told to walk for 10mins. This was the instruction of the traffic police - very dangerous.

Overall experience very good, would return; the weather helps!


Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

May I see your ticket?


By Thobias (Toby), Sweden, 20 Apr 2015
Close from gate to grandstand, good service and a lot of entertainment in fanzone. But attendanrs are extremely concered sbout ticket control, don't try to take the G stair indtead of F. No access to other grandstands om Friday, like in other tracks also bad. But, the circuit has a very good shuttle bus service to and from various 5-star hotels in Manama - there's no information about it on their website but it was really good and free of charge
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Our first experience of a Grand Prix


By Grand Prix Novice, 20 Apr 2015
so no comparison point but I imagine a wonderful venue for it. The access to the cars and drivers was amazing - I am sure it is not so easy at the bigger circuits. We went for the pit walk on the Thursday and it was brilliant. We should have gone to the autograph session on the Saturday but stupidly didn't realise it was open to all. We had access to the Gulf Air Club where we were able to buy alcoholic drinks which was definitely a bonus
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Don't understand the question


By Martin Davison, 16 Apr 2014
Was a far walk to our stand...was upset not to be able to have bottled water to sip on in the stand. Also had issues getting into the gulf air tent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Bahrain weekend


By George Hadden , 16 Apr 2014
For this being the first night race and with live entertainment Friday and Saturday everything was well organised. The bus shuttle service to and from the track was a good although timing from our hotel varied from day to day but it was still a decent service.
Excellent seats in the grandstand, plenty if food and sift drink stalls, and lots of sideshow entertainment for all the family.
The prices charged for access to the Gulf Air tent were a bit expensive given the fact it did not even include one free drink. A good atmosphere in the tent and none stop music as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

fab race!!


By f1 groupie, 15 Apr 2014
Excellent transfer from Manama hotel to circuit from Thu to Sun. Entertainment good at circuit, especially for children. Food good value and worth going in gulf air tent for a beer!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Food outlets


By Tony, 08 Apr 2014
Kiosk personnel only able to serve on customer at a time.
Limited food available. Only cold items.
Only one kiosk for 3 stands at University area.
Big selection of food only available in the village area. Very long walk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We accept American Express, JCB, MasterCard, Maestro, Visa, Visa Debit/Delta, and Visa Electron, and PayPal