bookF1.com

Shopping Basket

Your basket is empty. Any items you add to your order will appear here.
Prices in

Email Email this page to a friend

Bookmark and Share

SPANISH FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX

Below you will find reviews, ratings, and tips on the circuit from other race fans.

5 star
 
830
4 star
 
453
3 star
 
76
2 star
 
15
1 star
 
9
Average rating from 1383 reviews
 
If you would like to add your own ratings and comments then please click below.
 
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fantastic Weekend

Stand H
By Nom White, 08 Oct 2016
We had a marvellous three days at the track. Our seats in H Block had excellent views of the track (chicane). Sadly the Large Screen TV that should have been in place opposite us was not there and we had a smaller one to look at.
We camped at the Track campsite just up the hill which, although basic, was very good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Barcelona Grand Prix

Stand N
By Rachel Goodger , 22 Sep 2016
Barcelona Grand prix - for my first abroad f1 race this is by far the best thing I have done and so so glad I went ahead and did great place to visit and see. Stand N was perfect, great view of 2 corners (cars coming out of one and driving around to the next corner) and a huge TV screen in front of us to help follow the race a little better. Great weather sunshine all day however would say bring sun cream and hat as the stand was not undercover. Booking through 'book f1' i had the option of booking a coach (from the town) to and from the race track which was by far the best thing to do, however there was queing but went down quickly due to lots of coaches. quick a few food and drink places and good pricing. if booking this stand be prepared for quite a walk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Barcelona GP 2010 - 2016

General Admission
By Heather Gordon, 25 Jul 2016
I have been to the Barcelona Grand Prix the past 6 years now and I find it to be excellent value for money. I always get general admission tickets which provide great views of the track. This year I found where i normally sit had no TV screen which was the only downside but there were plenty of other places to sit. With the general admission ticket you get to the track parade on the Thursday - get there early as it is so busy and hard to see the top drivers if you are not fast. On the Friday you are able to sit in any of the grand stands and i moved around and tried a few different ones. On the Saturday and Sunday we sat in the same spot both days and had an excellent view of the track and the cars going up the hill. We sit on the grass and take a picnic blanket and purchased some cushions from the shop in Montmelo to make it abit more comfortable. Sitting in with the masses gives an amazing atmosphere and its a great way of getting involved and talking to other people. The track opens after the race on the Sunday so you can see the presentation but again you have to be prepared to run to get a spot to see well. Although there is a great choice of food at the venue it is very expensive so i would recommend taking your own food in with you. Alcohol is no longer allowed and the beer they sell is non alcoholic and very expensive. you can take juice/water in plastic bottles though. Normally they do the track parade in the vintage cars which this year they did not do. It took away from a great track parade and made it average. On the Saturday the cars arrive and line up at the venue so you can look at them and get some pictures. I missed that this year. Lots of entertainment going on around the track at various points and the toilets are always exceptionally clean. Each day we got the train from Placia de Gracia to Montmelo and it is a 20min walk to the track - all very well sign posted. Each night when we were finished at the track we walked to Montmelo and had a few drinks in the bar before going to the station - this meant it was less busy trying to get on the train when you were ready to go home.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Access
 

Great Experience!!

Stand K
By Howard, 07 Jun 2016
I took my wife (an ardent F1 fan) for a birthday treat and thoroughly enjoyed it myself. We had the 3 day pass booked which also gave access to the pit walk on the Thursday. The Thursday did not have the special transport laid on and so we got the train to Montmelo - this was very straightforward. The walk from the station to the track is quite lenghty and tiring in the heat; about half way there we came across a Sagales bus which went the rest of the way.
For the other 3 days we used the Sagales bus service from the the main bus station (near the Arc de Triompf) which dropped us off a few hundred yards from Gate 4, which was ideal for Stand K. Be aware that when buying your tickets from the station that they accept cash only. The service was very slickly run and even after the race on Sunday when there were literally thousands of people using the service, the queue continued moving quickly and there was not much of a wait.
We sat in Stand K which gave excellent views of the end of the starting straight and the first 3 corners - the cars then came into view about 15 seconds later for another 2 corners. The TV screens were not particularly visible - the nearest one to Stand K was, for some reason, much smaller than other ones.
When at the track make sure you have sun screen and some bottled water (which they did let you take in, including the caps). If you want beer at the track then it is all alcohol free once inside, and is expensive. I would also advise that you take a sandwich or snack as the catering at the event is very busy and not too good. Outside of the track there are places selling food and beer with sheltered tables.
I would definitely go again and Barcelona is a beautiful city to visit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Time at the Circuit de Catalunya

Stand G
By Sue Parekh, 04 Jun 2016
We had 4 great days at the Spanish F1, seats were good, would highly recommend stand G as you had good views of the race.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Four days at The Circuit de Catalunya

Stand G
By Ian and Gill, 02 Jun 2016
As it was our first visit to an F1 race meeting including camping at the circuit, we are pleased to say everything exceeded our expectations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fun time at Spanish Grand Prix

General Admission
By Glenn P / Alaska, 02 Jun 2016
Had a great time for my first F1 GP in person. Our G/A seats were very good, right across from a TV screen however we should have picked up a lawn chairs from the local vendors on our way in. The weather was spectacular, crowd was fun and the race was amazing. Had 3 non-racing fans with me but by race time they were really getting in to the spirt and enjoyed the experience.
Taking the train from Barcelona to Montmelo is the way to go; short 20 min walk to the circuit. After the race we took our time and ate in Montmelo and then got in line for the ride back.
All was very easy to navigate
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Very good weekend

Stand K
By Louise Irvine, 01 Jun 2016
We really enjoyed our weekend at the Spanish Grand Prix. The only down point for me were the toilets at the circuit, none of them had toilet seats & some never had any toilet roll, they were poorly attended. It would have been nice to be able to buy a beer or a glass of wine rather than spending a lot of money on non-alcoholic beer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

F1 Catalunya 2016 - First Time GP

General Admission
By Classy1, 31 May 2016
Ordered tickets through BookF1.com, (bit dubious as you never know, but I checked with a colleague who'd used them in the past). BookF1 were spot on! Booked really early and got discounted price and they emailed with updates as time went by. Tickets arrived early with no issues.

As for the races.. it was great. We'd got general admission tickets for the 3 days. Friday just wandered about and sat where ever we liked, once I remembered that's what you could do so had a different viewpoint for each of the practices. It is a long way to walk round so wear comfortable shoes. We bought some memorabilia, there are stalls dotted about all over and contemplated the best position to sit for Sundays race.
Saturday was much the same but busier, except you can only sit in designated areas not seats.
Friday and Saturday we didn't rush to get to the track but were there at the start. Didn't have queues at the gates to get in on any day but that could just have been timing. Having read peoples reviews before hand on the Sunday we decided to get there early. As staying about an hours drive away set off at 7.00am ish just incase there was a lot of traffic. The roads around Catalunya Track are well supervised and signposted and with the help of tom-tom had no problem getting to our allocated parking. In fact we were one of the first in our parking field. Exiting after the event was just as easy. We left about an hour after the race ended so many had already gone but there was still plenty of people milling around on the track. No problems getting out of the carpark and getting back onto the motorway was really easy and there was no queuing at all which I was very surprised at but as Ive said, very organised!!! Only took an hour to get back to Blanes.
Sundays race was exciting and the general areas were packed, we were on the bank from 8.30am and by 10 you couldn't see the grass! We took a towel each to sit on as grass wet and it also gave us a little space of our own, I would recommend if you want a particular spot get there early and don't move!!
Over the whole weekend only had to queue for WC once, after morning race on the Sunday, and the mens was longer than womens!!! Drinks/food are expensive as we found out on the Friday so brought our own in for next couple of days. Bags are searched when you enter but we had no problems only had sandwiches and couple bottles of water/coke each in plastic containers. Bring suncream and an umbrella it did rain over the weekend but it also got hot and lots of people used the umbrella as shade.
Overall- loved it want to go again :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

?

Main High
By William Lemen, 30 May 2016
I couldn't have been more pleased with the entire Spanish Formula ! Grand Prix experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

No rain for my stay in Spain. Stand J seats.

Stand J
By Ian, 30 May 2016
Great time was had. Flew to Barcelona, picked up hire car, stayed in Santa Susanna on the coast. Don't do it any other way, never mind all that time wasting public transport rubbish. Hire car was £70 for the week, hotel £300 for 2 for the week. We had a beach holiday, saw the best of Barcelona and had 3 trips to the GP. 3 day ticket gave us the pit lane walk on Thursday which gave me some great pics. Went for Qualify on Sat, with a car went late parked just outside the grandstand nobody around all inside. I paid the £12 for Sun car parking so spent 10 mins on checking things out. Race day, don't go at the crack of dawn because it is very well organised. Signes on the motorway, police at all the intersections, straight to a car parking spot, 10 mins and in the circuit. Worth paying the parking money because they take over he industrial estate around the circuit and you park safely on Tarmac roads.it all becomes one way on the way home and you are straight onto the motorway again. Our seats were very high in stand j. Good tv screen,see the pits and all of pit exit + other parts of the circuit. Couldn't be better. U tube stand J and someone has put a good vid up from2012 which shows you really well. No bottles or cans allowed in the circuit. But plastic bottles are fine, and you keep the lids. No beer. Only take the tops off stuff bought in the circuit. Really nice food available behind stand j on race day . Reasonable prices, coffee, tables in among the shade trees. Great time to be had by all. Don't listen to the moaners!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great days out

General Admission
By jinty-g, 30 May 2016
Had a brilliant time at Circuit de Catalunya. Although we had 3day passes for general admission we only used them on the Saturday and Sunday. This was our first live Grand Prix and we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere on the grassy slopes of Pelouse. The Saturday was busy but not overcrowded and there was plenty of space to sit. On the Sunday it was absolutely mobbed where we wanted to sit ( the straight between turns 8 and 9 ) this was at 11 am. We should have gone earlier to get more space but we still managed to squeeze in in front of the main screen. Next time we'll go a lot earlier. The Sagales bus company runs an excellent return service to the track from the bus station in Barcelona. It cost us 12 euro each so for two of us for 2 days it was a total of 48 euro. We took our own food and water with us as the prices in the stalls were really high. If you travel by car take folding chairs, umbrellas, hamper and cool box as many other people did. We had a terrific experience as novices but will be better prepared next time
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Problems

Stand K
By Disappointed, 30 May 2016
We got delayed for the pit walk and when we arrived at 18 40 the gates to the pit lane walk were locked and we were not allowed in even though it should have been open. When we booked it showed a Large screen almost opposite our seats which wasn't there it had been put nearer to the first bend almost next to another screen, this was very disappointing as we couldn't see what was happening around the rest of the track. I discovered I had my wallet stolen, and trying to find somebody/police to report it turned into a drama as the people on the info booths were not much help as they just said try the next booth and we ended up almost walking the whole track before finding the police cabin.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

super day out

Stand N
By Keith, 27 May 2016
traffic well directed for access in and out. seating good with good view of track. weather good, not too hot, but warm. racing good, shame about Hamilton and Rosberg out so soon but made for a closer race perhaps and the thrill of such a young man winning.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Weekend

Stand J
By Al, Cleveleys, 26 May 2016
Smaller and more civilised than Silverstone with great weather.
Circuit easy to get in and out of, no traffic issues at all.
Could do with more activities on the Saturday evening but this is reflected in the cheaper ticket prices.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Facilities
 

Wonderful Experience!


By Kbbx5, 26 May 2016
We were pleasantly surprised with our experience of getting to & from the race track, and the race itself. "bookF1" did a great job presenting accurate information to make the experience easy. Coming from a different country and not knowing the area makes buying tickets and planning transportation overwhelming. We bought the tickets and the bus pass from "bookF1". We walked to the bus station from our Barcelona hotel. We followed the crowd and went straight to the buses taking us to the track. We boarded right away as the buses were loaded quickly. We were dropped off very close to the track (basically on the property of the track). After the race we went back to where we were dropped off. The staff was very good to point the crowd in the right direction. The bus line was extremely long. We were dreading a very long wait time to board the bus. I timed the wait. It was only 15 minutes! And the traffic was directed to make sure there were no problems. We were back in Barcelona in 30 minutes. This was the most organized race for traffic. The track did not sell alcohol, nor allow it to be brought in. Rumors were that the track lost their alcohol license. There was a lot of food choices. The stands were very dated, but were pretty comfortable. (Hard plastic chairs, very close together ). There was never a long line for restrooms.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Very satisfied with the race weekend!

General Admission
By Dušan, 26 May 2016
It was tremendous weekend, and i didn't regret for buying general admission tickets (3 day-ticket) as i was able to move arround and to find a perfect spot for watching the main race on sunday. As of the politics of the circuit organizer for not selling an alcoholic beer (and though put the high price tag on non-alcoholic beer) I can only advise you to drink one or maybe two in front of the entrance (same price as inside). The pit lane walk was great! The toilets were easy to find, and the overall experience of the weekend with my girlfriend was extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fantastic F1 Experience

Stand J
By Kris K, 26 May 2016
Brilliant weekend! We have done the Spanish Grand Prix twice now and has been fantastic each time. I have traveled two and from the track by both bus and train both are very busy but very efficient. If i was to go again i think i will stick with the train. Although keep in mind the train stops at Montmelo not the track, so you have around a 30min walk to the track or you can hop onto a bus from Montmelo. We didn't mind the walk though as we could stop for a drink along the way and look at the merchandise stalls.

We sat in Stand J which i think is brilliant value. The stand is more less opposite the pit exit. The cars coming past flat out is great to watch and you can just see the cars going into the first corner. There is a giant screen opposite the stand which is very handy to help you follow the race. As the cars pass stands M and L you see them coming down the hill again in the distance.

This is a fantastic race to do always great weather and Barcelona is great city to visit!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Amazing time at the Barcelona race

Stand H
By Lisa, 26 May 2016
The information provided was fantastic. It was very easy to come to a new city, speaking a different language, and find our way to the circuit without any issues. There were plenty of places to get food or a beverage, and toilets nearby our stand. Overall a fantastic experience, and already recommended to a number of people.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

A good weekend - shame about the lack of TV coverage

Main High
By Deborah Domun, 25 May 2016
We had a really good weekend and compared with other tracks, such as Silverstone & Spa, the cleanliness of the circuit and campsite was unexpectedly good. More variety of food would have been good but we were happy to cook at the campsite. Thursdays pit walk was excellent and our first experience of this.

The real downside was that, despite paying for tickets in the main stand as we like to watch the activities in the pit lane, we were not able to view the TV screens which were at either end of the Paddock stand and we were seated centrally. We had to pass binoculars up and down the row. Why was there not a screen centrally above the paddock?? There seems to be no option to book seats in a particular area of the stand, which we would have done if we had realised the lack of a screen. The map of the circuit also didn't show which way the screens were facing, and there were too few of them. We like to have the option of looking at the screen whilst watching the track from other viewpoints on the circuit too. We enjoyed walking round the track but found there were unexpected barriers between some sections even on the Friday free access day.

Don't want to sound too negative though as the experience was mostly very good. Well worth the 2,300 mile round trip drive!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We accept American Express, JCB, MasterCard, Maestro, Visa, Visa Debit/Delta, and Visa Electron, and PayPal