bookF1.com

Shopping Basket

Your basket is empty. Any items you add to your order will appear here.
Prices in

Email Email this page to a friend

Bookmark and Share

CHINESE FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX

Below you will find reviews, ratings, and tips on the circuit from other race fans.

Average rating from 150 reviews
 
If you would like to add your own ratings and comments then please click below.
 
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Simply the best

Main A High
By Ian Clark, 14 May 2016
I have been to several F1 circuits and from the spectator point of view this is the best. From Main A High we were able to see most of the circuit. Despite being undercover we did get wet during quali but it was worth it. To purchase food and drink it was a long haul unfortunately from our location. However, we were allowed to take in food and water. Access to the circuit from Shanghai downtown was easy using the metro. Just over an hour and very cheap. The circuit has it's own station, could not be easier. Ticket prices are very reasonable compared to other circuits. The race was very good and being able to see Lewis cutting his way through the field was sooooo good. Just wish there were more circuits like Shanghai where cars can actually race and overtake, it would be much more popular.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
 

It's a long way, but it's worth it

Main A High
By Dave M, 09 May 2016
Travelling from the UK, Shanghai is not the cheapest or easiest GP to reach, but it's a very reqarding experience. Shanghai itself is a fantastic city and well worth a few days of your time - easy to navigate, relatively cheap (except for a beer) and generally safe, there's plenty to see and do.
I missed Friday practice, so only travelled to the circuit for 2 days, but it's so easy to get to. From my hotel it took about 45mins travelling on the metro and cost about 70p each way. From the station, the circuit is a very short walking distance and despite warnings about the crowds, I didn't find it overly busy on race day either going or returning.
Facilites at the circuit are decent and although the food wasn't anything special, it was reasonable enough in price and a drink didn't break the bank. No long queues getting in, plenty of toilets, lots of stalls and merchandise.
Tickets are the real bargain, though. £130 - Main Grandstand A high. I was toward the left with a great view of the pit exit and the full series of bends at the end of the main straight. It also offered good views across the rest of the circuit. People have complained about Chinese sitting in their seats and I did find someone in mine on qualifying day, but they moved along with no hassle. I did find it necessary to stand for most of the qualifying and race if I really wanted to see because a lot of people stand (not just the Chinese) at the barrier at the front of each level (I did too for a while) and my seat was only row 2. The higher seats had no issues with this. The security guards made a vague attempt to move people along but gave in pretty quickly. But, it's a sporting event and I have no problem standing for a while.
If I get the chance, I would love to go to this event again - my whole experience of Shanghai and it's GP was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't be happier

Main A+ High
By Bradley, 09 May 2016
This was my first time using BookF1, so I was a little apprehensive, having previously only bought through the official Formula 1 website.

I will only ever book through BookF1 in future, the tickets were fantastic value and my seat could not have been better, I was delighted!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

China GP2016

Main A Low: Family
By Mikey, 03 May 2016
Apart from very slow and chaotic entry on Saturday (caused by newly introduced x-ray procedures), everything else was very good indeed. Very easy to get to from the center of Shanghai and great views from the grandstand. (Only visited Fri - Sat)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Experience at the Shanghai Formula 1 Race

Main A High
By Steve Mihm, 26 Apr 2016
The transportation to the race via the Metro from the center of Shanghai was very easy and inexpensive ($1.00 to get to the track). Getting into the Shanghai International Circuit went smoother than expected. There were fairly long lines, but moved quickly. We had seats in the Main A High section directly across from the podium, could not have been any better. From these seats we could see more than one half of the track and the pits. When leaving the facility to get to the Metro, the line seemed like we would be there for hours. To our surprise, we were on the subway and back in the city in 55 minutes. Overall this was a GREAT experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Our experience during the Chinese Formula 1 Grand Prix weekend

Main A High
By Mikko Alanne, 23 Apr 2016
Overall we have nothing to complain about the weekend. We had necessary equipment for rainy weather so we get along well. And the race was exiting although the start was not that what we expected and wanted.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Grandstand K - Chinese Grand Prix 2016

Grandstand K
By John, 23 Apr 2016
BookF1 got me 2 excellent tickets on the back row of Grandstand K. Had an excellent view of the majority of the circuit, especially the DRS straight, hairpin and pit-lane entrance. In fact, the only section I couldn't see from this vantage point was the start grid!... It was a breezy and rainy weekend, and the higher seat was a little exposed. So recommend warm/waterproof clothing and umbrella.
There are 2 video screens at this grandstand, but no commentary.

We had a problem with very rude Chinese people standing in the narrow walkway that ran behind our seats, using it as a vantage point to take photos; so that every time we turned around there was some dude's crotch in our face. One guy even had the cheek to ask me to sit down, which provoked a suitable reply! We eventually moved them on by standing up and blocking their view or strategically placed elbows.

The circuit allows you to take your own drinks; But they must be in plastic bottles and not cans (which they will confiscate), and they will ask you to take a sip for security reasons. Food stalls at the grandstand are perfectly adequate (hotdogs,burgers,crisps etc). There is no after-race concert. Taxis are impossible to get. There are no buses laid on. Take the metro, which has a station at the circuit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

good from far but far from good

Main A+ High
By Warren Alani, 21 Apr 2016
Despite encountering a few problem, We have enjoyed certain part of the race . although we had 3 days days ticket, we were refused to enter the pit on Sat. our itinerary that you have provided us shows clearly that we are entitled to see the the pit on Friday. There were a few street sellers selling ' pit view' tickets for about $20 and the Chinese security insisted that unless we have those tickets we re not allowed to enter. We have spoken to one your representative over the phone but she couldn't do anything for us. As many other people whom refused to view the pit on the same ground on the same, we were very disappointed indeed. We have spent a lot of money for this trip but we don't think it was a good value for money. Apologies for inconvenience certainty will not give us back anything. Food facilities at the race were poor. There were nothing to buy at the stand. We had go down all the way down to purchase out food and drink. There were no lift facilities to to level of the stand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

2016 Chinese GP


By Trevor Douglas., 21 Apr 2016
Even though we were not promised the seats we were hoping for as that was up to the race organisers we did get exactly what we wanted.We were four rows back from the front of the stand and were high enough to see over the safety wire and over the heads of a few race goers who left their seats to stand, blocking the view for the rows below us. As we were travelling there from New Zealand, I had many emails to BookF1 concerning the delivery of the tickets to the hotel, I was kept up to date throughout the whole process and after some long phone calls to the Hotel all worries were put to rest. All in all a fantastic weekend thanks to the professionalism of BookF1.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Amazing!! (A+ HIGH Grandstand tickets) - Shanghai Grand Prix 2016

Main A+ High
By Jen C, 21 Apr 2016
I had the most amazing weekend at the Shanghai Pirelli Grand Prix 2016!!! Went on both the Saturday and Sunday. On the Saturday, I got a taxi to the circuit with 3 friends, took just under an hour from central Shanghai (we came from French concession area) and it cost us 150yuan (not too bad split between the 4 of us - £15.00). Atmosphere was great, quite busy. Had a great view of the race - it rained loads but luckily was undercover with A+ HIGH tickets. Then took metro back to city centre which cost 6yuan (60p) - defo recommend getting to the circuit by metro - you save lots!
On the Sunday - race day - the metro was packed - we left 1 hour advance which gave us enough time to get there before the parade - amazing atmosphere - A LOT BUSIER - not a lot of Chinese attend the events on the Friday/Saturday, so Sunday is a shock! Everything is well organised, entry/security checks, lots of toilets available, there were not any big queues for drinks/foods. The day itself was incredible - one of the best experiences ever - with A+ High tickets you can see pretty much the whole circuit, I had friends on the A Low, they told me even though they were closer to the cars, and had a better view of the teams as they were preparing the cars, they actually would have preferred to have a view of the whole track. Getting onto the metro after the race was very well organised by all the Chinese police, security, etc. If you leave quickly and follow the crowds it can take you 10 minutes (from grandstand). If you're on the grass, it takes a little longer to get back and then the queues are massive and it may take you a good 40 minutes to get onto the metro - but they have a well organised queuing system so no-one gets trampled on! All in all, an amazing weekend!!!!

Also, I purchased my tickets whilst in England, then moved to China to study. The service from bookf1 was incredible, I was always in contact with them, and my tickets were delivered safely by DHL!! Would recommend buying here 100% :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Overall a great time

Main A+ High
By Billy Whimwa, 20 Apr 2016
Pros: I sat in A+ section and the view is excellent up there. You can see just about the whole track; With binoculars you see even more. The 1-4 place garages are across from you. Being up high is fairly quite and you can see all the action. The A+ seats are under the big roof thing so rain isn't a problem even though wind will blow it at you. The stands are steep so viewing angle down to the track is unobstructed if everyone would sit down. The metro takes you right to the track and is very easy although on race day it's packed.

Cons: I wish they could have managed the crowds a bit better. There were terribly long waits to get in because of inefficient gate security measures. A lot of people managed to get up into the A+ section without proper tickets. Too many people standing blocks what should have been an excellent view. I guess the standing bit is part of the experience though I'm lazy and prefer to sit and watch.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

3/5

Grandstand H
By Daniel K, 19 Apr 2016
if you want see something else than fances never buy tickets for bottom part of grandstand H & K
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Efficient!


By Shannon, 19 Apr 2016
Getting to the Shanghai Circuit wasnt much of a hassle once your on the Metro line 11 though the tracks are quite a distance from the city centre roughly 45 minutes to 1.15min of metro from the centre gets you there. Strongly advice not to take a Cab.
Also there was A Official F1 Merchandise vendor in the Park outside the stadium that sold merchandise for a cheaper price than the ones indoor so dont be fooled.
Otherwise its a great circuit and definately coming back next year.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Sit on the grass and save money

General Admission C
By Pedro, 19 Apr 2016
We sat on the grass in Section C. Views were good, and it was not crowded at all. Action on the hairpin bend was intense. We also were able to pack a picnic, bring in drinks, and have space for a picnic blanket. Nice little Sunday!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Awesome event

General Admission C
By Sbu, 19 Apr 2016
It was an amazing event,can't really complain about anything
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

ok


By Richard, 19 Apr 2016
long que to access circuit through security - apart from that everything was very good
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

A very good first experience


By Daniil, 18 Apr 2016
It was the first grand prix that I attended, and I was quite happy about my experience at the Chinese Grand Prix. I had great view from the backstraight grandstand, and I had a TV screen to see all the action elsewhere. The security was quite tight, and the agents were sometimes a bit rigid about it, but they were nice most of the time. Very good value overall, because the tickets are so cheap! And it's so easy to get to the circuit!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Shanghai f1

Main A High
By Robert S, 29 Apr 2015
Very good weekend. Nice race on a very spectator friendly track
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Amazing race, great tickets and so easy to get to from the City.

Main A Platinum
By G & K Kendrick., 26 Apr 2015
China is an amazing city and we thoroughly enjoyed the race as our tickets gave us amazing views. We even had hospitality laid on with lots of food and drinks which was a lovely surprise.
This aside, we struggled to find our seats and we had to go back twice and finally found them with people sat in them!!!! We asked them to move to which they did only to stand right by us blocking our view. I asked to see their tickets which they didn't have and we then found around 30 people around us who also didn't have tickets. We were furious to think we'd paid a lot of money for our tickets when others had simply walked in for free. Apparently this is the norm in China and they've been doing it for years. They pay the security guys a few pound and they in turn let them in for free. I really want to complain to someone about this as it's simply unacceptable to people who pay over good money for these races.

There is no way you can complain to F! as they don't accept complaints, they simply offer a FAQ section to which you cannot respond so how will anything be done if this problem isn't highlighted? It needs sorting.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Chinese Grand Prix

Grandstand K
By John Clough, 26 Apr 2015
Booked tickets with F1.com in UK and travelled to Shanghai to visit family. Collected the tickets at the circuit and there were no problems with this and no queuing involved. Very good price and lovely seats in K stand. cannot thank F1.com enough for making it all so easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We accept American Express, JCB, MasterCard, Maestro, Visa, Visa Debit/Delta, and Visa Electron, and PayPal