bookF1.com

Shopping Basket

Your basket is empty. Any items you add to your order will appear here.
Prices in

Email Email this page to a friend

Bookmark and Share

AUSTRALIAN FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX

Below you will find reviews, ratings, and tips on the circuit from other race fans.

5 star
 
152
4 star
 
117
3 star
 
30
2 star
 
6
1 star
 
7
Average rating from 312 reviews
 
If you would like to add your own ratings and comments then please click below.
 
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
 

Excellent Weekend

Formula One Paddock Clubâ„¢
By David G, 19 Apr 2016
n/a
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
 

Very enjoyable

Prost
By Philip Symes, 03 Apr 2016
Really enjoyed the variety of races and demonstrations, entertainment and food were good, the pit lane walks were interesting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

my first melbourne GP experience

Jones
By Alex Pass, 31 Mar 2016
First time at the Melbourne GP after previously going to Singapore and Malaysia GP's and absolutely loved it. Well set up, plenty of food and drink vendors and merchandise.
Jones stand was great to sit in and staff were very friendly.
I would definitely come back for this race.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

A great day out

Schumacher
By Malcolm Brock, 31 Mar 2016
We only had a ticket for the race day but it was a superb day out. The Schumacher stand turned out to be a good choice as we were sitting on the right hand side and had a reasonable view of the race and of the large screen opposite. (Although the lamppost right in front of it was a little annoying). Seats in the Schumacher Premium stand would have been better as it is higher and there is cover giving relief from the very hot sun but these were not available. Getting into the circuit was very easy and once there, there were plenty of food and drink and toilet facilities immediately behind the stand so we didn't have to queue at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Overall a great location and race programme.

Brabham Skybox
By Geoff Clarke, 29 Mar 2016
We enjoyed the location and the view of the track.
The big screen was well placed for us but the small screens were a bit too small.
It was extremely difficult to hear the commentary and some speakers could be placed in the area of the sky box to help. I refer to the commentary when there was no racing or loud noise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great weekend in Melbourne and F1 viewing

Senna
By Mark Da Silva, 29 Mar 2016
As always the Book F1 process worked perfectly, collected tickets without a hitch, so thanks for that! My first time at the Melbourne race and really enjoyed it overall with a few exceptions that I thought the Australian organisers would have worked out by now? The tram and bus service is as good as it possibly can be, but it was still overwhelmed at the end of each day. That can't be helped but the way crowds are sent from one gate to the next could be better. Lots of people jumping over the tram tracks to avoid the mobbed underpass, too many people cutting in etc. Too many vehicle priority lanes inside the park? 1000's of people having to wait at cross roads while 2 people in a golf cart amble through the grounds....? Toilets and food stands were all good quality, but nowhere near enough to cater for the crowds that are guaranteed to attend? And what a lack of beer sellers? I know the Aussies like a drink, so whats with all the soft drink and iced tea carts and about 3 places to buy beer in the areas close to Gate 1 and 2? The marshalls on the stands were good, people well behaved and not standing on the stairs and walkways as usual in other places! A lot of great effort from private car owners and collectors, events ongoing all weekend, but its a pity the event ends so early each day.......check out Singapore with concerts and drinking until 1-2am in the middle of the city, that must make a lot of money for someone. The RAAF displays were brilliant! And the race! a great way to start the season, the track is lovely for a street circuit and despite the chaotic qualifying rules that Bernie et al must sort out, the race was exciting to watch even if Lewis didn't win this time!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Rolex Australian Grand Prix 2016

Fangio Premium
By Warren Husband from Australia, 28 Mar 2016
What a race! We purchased 4 day Fangio Premium tickets for my wife and I. The seating was excellent but I would have like to have a choice in seats. Although you said we didn't have access to the GP Advantage benefits we did have access to the GP Advantage facility next door to our seats, a big plus. Next time we'll be ordering our tickets early to qualify for all the GP Advantage benefits.

Thanks to Book F1 I now have a wife who is converted to F1 racing! She loved every thing about the event. especially the speed and sounds of the cars. My wife also bought Grand Prix jacket & cap for the week in Melbourne. she's converted!

Once again thank you Book F1.com,

Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

2016 premium zone overpopulated not premium and not worth the extra cash

Turn 15 Premium Zone & General Admission
By John, 27 Mar 2016
Have been going to GP for years. previous seating including Weber stand and general admission. Decided premium zone this year due to advertised view and large screen. What a rip off. Too many people and couldn't get a chance to sit with my 9 year old sold to watch race without being squashed like sardines. No way could see cars racing behind barriers and throng of people. We ended up moving to GA where vantage and viewing points much better. Service at bar was slow and food options not great. If you advertise premium zone you need to deliver premium experience and service. Never again
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Australian grand prix

Fangio
By Myrtle O'Neill, 27 Mar 2016
We were very impressed with the ease with which we were able to collect our tickets and also with the staff in the uk who helped with the booking
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Comments

Ricciardo Premium
By John, 27 Mar 2016
World Champion Grandstand was to far away from main activities area e.g. GP Advantage Members for us. Now we are familiar with venue we will book other stands in future as we found the GP Members area excellent. Very few personnel actually knew where World Champion Stand was. Exiting from the Venue on Sunday afternoon was a debacle and it seemed to us that once the race was over, the venue staff all stopped working and the public was left to their own devices to exit the venue. Even the police presence was lacking and there were several altercations as people pushed and shoved to exit the venue onto Canterbury Road. This experience detracted from what had been an excellent 4 days up to that point. In terms of us attending again, which we will, we would like to be able to select the actual seats we want. Obviously a first in first served basis but to be able to select seating in a particular spot in a particular stand would assist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Excellent Venue for an Excellent Race

4 Corner: Schumacher
By Hank L., 26 Mar 2016
I had a great time at the Australian GP in no small part because of the excellent facilities at the Albert Park circuit. Granted at the Schumacher Grandstand you miss seeing the start live but you do get to see who goes into the pits and who finishes. As a bonus, Sebastian Vettel's last minute spin happened right in front of us. We had great weather and the food and comfort facilities were just steps away from the grandstands.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

One of the best races for fan engagement

Senna
By Fern , 26 Mar 2016
I've attended a few different circuits around Europe so this year I decided to do Melbourne. This was the best decision I could have made. They are doing everything right! The Thursday had all the drivers doing autographs where I met quite a few of them with very little ques (however if I wanted to meet the big teams I would have had to que all day in 37 degree heat.. Your best bet to meet those driver's is through Melbourne walk). They also had racing on the Thursday, which was very impressive. It was an extra full day for fans.

They also had competitions running all weekend, all you had to do is post a selfie on social networking sites. I won a V8 paddock/garage tour and my friend won F1 paddock tour, where we saw all the team bosses going to an event, several drivers going on lunch and even a few film crews. To experience this I felt so incredibly lucky, more circuits should do this for fans.

As for our seats we were on the last corner so had the cars slow down for the pits in front of us. Had perfect views of them, and a big screen in front of us. However the TV screens didn't give us any info on the new quali knock outs so unless you listened to the radio you had no clue what was going on.

As for transport I got dropped off just outside the gate 1 and picked up from the middle Park shops just across the road. So easy to get to. I go the tram in on the Sunday which was easy and had the added bonus of Daniel Ricciardo's voice greeting you and telling you what stop to use. However getting the tram home on the Sunday was difficult due to huge ques. Maybe they need a longer walk between the circuit and the tram to organise better.

But overall this has been one of my favourite races to attend, this one is for the fans and they do everything right at a reasonable price. Will be looking into doing this one again :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

A great weekend!

Turn 15 Premium Zone & General Admission
By kimboolie, 23 Mar 2016
Premium Zone upgrade to the general admission was well worth it and the bean bags made the long day super comfy (but get in early to grab one). The track schedule is full-on all day with plenty of support categories and off-track action and displays are great. A great weekend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
 

Australian fomular 1 Grand Prix


By Mairizio Sposato , 23 Mar 2016
We had a great day we had a great view of the track and will use bookF1 again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great weekend spoilt by poor access and egress through gate 1

Senna
By Graig Heseltine, 23 Mar 2016
Access was held up until 10.15 am causing big delays.
No apparent reason for not letting patrons into the circuit early.
Upon attempting to leave at the end of final practice on Saturday it took over one hour to access Canterbury Road.
Suggestion would be the construction of a temporary access egress away from the tram stop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Australian Grand Prix 2016

Brabham 3 Champions
By Sue Lloyd, 23 Mar 2016
This was my first experience of a live race and it was excellent from day one through to day four - race day. I was lucky to have a GP Advantage ticket which included Pit Lane walks, access to the Paddock view deck, the F1 Fanzone & Melbourne Walk, where I met most of the drivers and have many photos and autographs. I had excellent seats each day and was sat next to the same people which was great. I would highly recommend this event and venue and will definately be returning again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

A well enjoyed day, build up was the highlight

General Admission
By Darren, 23 Mar 2016
Enjoyed the weekend, will attend again maybe upgrade next time
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fantastic weekend

Ricciardo Premium
By Sue H, 23 Mar 2016
The organisation of the whole weekend was outstanding. The trams ran well and every thought was given to ensuring that fans were able to get to and from the race track quickly and efficiently. The circuit was amazing and I was particularly pleased that there was a dedicated outside sitting area just for ticket holders of that grandstand - with the added bonus of excellent catering and refreshments plus bathroom facilities.
There was excellent viewing from the grandstand which combined with the big screen just opposite ensured we didn't miss any of the action.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Overall a great 4 days

Senna Premium
By Ian, 23 Mar 2016
Overall the venue is excellent and the track very exciting. Facilities were excellent. It was amazing how clean the toilet facilities were kept despite the thousands of people. Big ups to whatever company was handling this.
The main problem with the circuit is getting out at the end if the day. Days 3 & 4 were a nightmare with thousands of patrons struggling to exit via the gates which funnelled people into narrow exits. Somehow this needs to be fixed, maybe by providing more large exits other than just the entry gates. This could be achieved by removing fence panels in additional areas to the gates.
One other issue, the prices that are charged are, in many cases, exorbitant. This includes "branded" merchandise (other then the Melbourne F1 items which were quite reasonable in comparison. Well done to Melbourne F1 organisers for that.
Last problem was the telecast on the big screens. Far too little information was provided on screen. This included the qualifying information such as timings and knock out results. During the races there was little to no information provided about positions, etc. and this was really disappointing. There was also not enough coverage of the actual races where things like pit stops and overtaking manoeuvres were shown.
Thanks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fabulous

Webber
By Bernadette Merlo, 23 Mar 2016
Tickets to the Grand Prix was my Christmas present to my husband and myself and we thoroughly enjoyed the day. The only criticism we have, which is only minor, was the lack of healthy options from the food vans. Salads and salad wraps/sandwiches would have been a wonderful addition.
We entered and left through Gate 1 which was a rather tight bottle neck at the end of the day but the free trams and the organisation was well executed and we were soon on our way home
Thank you for a brilliant day
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We accept American Express, JCB, MasterCard, Maestro, Visa, Visa Debit/Delta, and Visa Electron, and PayPal