bookF1.com

Email Email this page to a friend

Bookmark and Share

ABU DHABI FORMULA 1 GRAND PRIX

Below you will find reviews, ratings, and tips on the circuit from other race fans.

5 star
 
354
4 star
 
108
3 star
 
12
2 star
 
3
1 star
 
3
Average rating from 480 reviews
 
If you would like to add your own ratings and comments then please click below.
 
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

5 star

South
By Gomez, 05 Jan 2017
Excellent race great day out
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Week and Weekend Celebrations

South
By Kaneezy, 03 Jan 2017
This was the first trip to a F1 race and we enjoyed every minute of it. The arena has a number of activities to keep guests entertained from the onset and there is something for everyone! Look out for the event itinerary to make sure you don't miss anything.
We booked the three day package and received the complimentary fourth day (Thurs) entry which included the pitlane walk as well as access to the autograph sessions with the F1 drivers. this package also include free access to Ferrari world and Yas water world.
I found the Ferrari memorabilia much cheaper at Ferrari world than at the Arena, so if you're planning on purchasing items, maybe this would be a better option for you.
Food and drinks are plenty in supply, as are the buses and taxis. Be careful as some of the taxi driver try to 'give you a deal with better pricing'. These are not really worth it and your taxi will drop you far from your entry point which means a lot of walking.
We hired a car and found it to be more convenient as you can request free parking with your ticket purchase and there are buses to take you from the parking lot to the arena. Take a picture of your parking spot so that you know which bus stop to get off at when you return as all buses stop at all parking areas (it's a circular road).
The concerts take place at the Du Arena which is located just next to the circuit. Be sure to get your free concert wrist band at circuit from the personal at the circuit for entry to concerts. Each night will be a different color wrist band.
All in all a great, well planned event. Look forward to attending many more in the future
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

.

South
By Juuso Lehtinen, 23 Dec 2016
Great seats for us center of the screen ☺
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Top Class Venue

West
By Simone, 19 Dec 2016
The Yas Marina ciruit is a very good venue for the Grand Prix. We were West section 05 Row G which had a good view. I would have struggled if the F1 cars were as noisy as the GP2 cars. Even with ear plugs and headphones those cars were what we love - noisy. I found however on the Saturday that I was fine watching them in the empty seats to the left of us looking down the start/finish straight.
The circuit and facilities are kept very clean.
There are ample food outlets with enough choice.
They do quite a good job with entertainment within the circuit but I wasn't impressed with the duplication of security to enter the DuPoint Arena. Surely they should be able to filter race goers straight into the venue from the track where adequate security has already taken place. We persevered with it all to see Lionel Richie but we left his show early in anticipation of the taxi queue and we made the right call as it was apparentlly hideous. A fellow guest at our hotel got back at 1.00pm. This was the decider for Rhianna and we didn't even bother. I didn't speak to anyone who had a good thing to say about the entertainment afterwards which was a shame.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
 

Seating


By Jean Geer, 14 Dec 2016
Cannot fault our seats in West Stand - excellent position with full views of all action
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great weekend

Main
By Jill R, 13 Dec 2016
Had great seats in main grandstand, 7 rows from front opposite Lewis Hamilton garage great to see all preparation before race. It's 3rd time we've been to this race, it's a fantastic experience & after race concerts are fab. See you next year
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

amazing weekend

North Lounge
By Caroline Kemp, 12 Dec 2016
We arrived by car and had pre booked car parking. The shuttle buses were on standby to ferry to the circuit. The north lounge was fab, we found everything easily accessible, and all staff were very courteous and helpful.
Only quibble would be the concert entry system. We were accompanying a relative in a wheelchair and access for him was not brilliant. Other than that top class seating and viewing. Ticket purchasing and delivery top class too
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great last race

Marina
By Denis Robinson, 11 Dec 2016
Had a brilliant time,great seats a very good finale to the season..Great view and close to the Food/drink and entertainment..
Only problem was the Rianna concert was a complete farce,,,It took 30 minutes to get to the Arena using the circle coaches we waited 50 minutes in the queue (not to be described as one really) gave up and went back to the Hotel early,a big disappointment on our last night..
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great venue

Al Dhiyafa - Main
By Mike, 08 Dec 2016
Firstly, bookF1 services as good as ever.
We found this venue to be excellent apart from a couple of gripes. The gripes being access around the circuit. You can get from the Main Grandstand to the West Grandstand areas by way of an underpass but you are not allowed into any other areas. Second gripe was the lack of Taxis after the races each day. The circuit plan showed a Taxi rank at the Plaza Hotels area. Couldn't find it. The other was shown near the Yas du Arena but only operated after the concerts. We therefore had to try and flag down a passing Taxi, not an easy job when hundreds of other people are trying to do the same thing. When we attended the Hungarian GP there were hundreds of Taxis at a dedicated area. Getting to the GP was not a problem, we were staying in the centre of Abu Dhabi and Taxis were plentiful and cheap, 30km distance, 30 min and cost about £15.
The tickets we purchased were great, a dedicated, shaded seat with views of the main straight and pits and access to the air conditioned suite serving complimentary hot and cold food and drink all day. There was also access to a cash bar.
The area outside of the Main Grandstand was outstanding. Entertainment all day, driver signing opportunities (big queues though) covered areas with soft cushions / chairs. There is an enclosed area to purchase alcoholic drinks (expensive - 45 Dirhams a pint, about £10) but it is Abu Dhabi and it is a Grand Prix. There is also a variety of food outlets serving expensive food (didn't need to use them with the facilities in the Al Dhiyafa)
We attempted to see the after race concert on Saturday (Lionel Richie) but the queue was manic so gave up.
Overall we had a fantastic weekend at a fantastic venue
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great trip & race

South Club Lounge
By Ricciardo, 08 Dec 2016
Overall a very well managed event. Our seats were South club lounge. We were row A upper level so you would have thought the view would be great. But, there is a defect in the design of this row with little space between the spectator and the rail, so everyone leans forward and the view of the straight is compromised. Any row further back would have been better. We liked the lounge and had all our food & drinks there. The concerts are a bit of a hike. Some people had problems with large cameras, as I don't think the staff were fully briefed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

BEST TRACK WITH BEST ACCESS !!!

North
By RICHARD, 08 Dec 2016
BEST ACCESS TO A GP TRACK WE HAVE EXPERIENCED , NO TRAFFIC , NO QUEUES . FACILITIES AT THE TRACK WERE EXCELLENT AND THE VIEW FROM
THE NORTH STAND IS AWESOME .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

2016 Abu Dhabi GP

South
By SJP (UK), 05 Dec 2016
Superb venue. Best grandstand I have used anywhere in the world. No rickety planks and scaffolding here. Permanent shaded structures with backrests on the seats. The stand had indoor toilets and an air-conditioned canteen on the ground floor. It even has lifts. The seating is very high up, giving superb views of the track, without being spoilt by safety fences. The giant TV screen was well positioned. In the oasis area the usual good selection of food and drinks could be purchased. Alcohol is available in a screened off compound within the main oasis area. It is, as you would expect, quite expensive (approx £10 for a 500ml beer). Public transportation from downtown AD to the circuit is virtually non existent, but taxis are easy to find and are relatively good value when sharing (approx £15 each way).
Visitors should be aware that security at the entrance gates is strictly enforced, with no food or drink being allowed through (including bottled water). There are also rules about not taking in lenses greater than 30cm in length or even sun cream. However, these are enforced differently by different staff. I personally managed to get my sun cream through each time.
My only gripe with Yas Marina Circuit, other than the OTT security, is the lack of a roving ticket day on the Friday, as you get at some other circuits. This means that all weekend you can only see the cars from one position.
You can access the other Oasis areas around the circuit, but they are just copies of the one next to your own stand. I could not even access the Abu Dhabi Hill with my South Grandstand ticket when I tried.
The air display at the start and the fireworks at the end were the best I have seen anywhere. Overall a superb weekend, and the service from Book F1.com was faultless as always.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Superb

South Club Lounge
By Giles, 05 Dec 2016
Book F1 very efficient, collecting tickets so easy. The bus laid on by the circuit ( Not in Book F1 control) is very good BUT can be a bit long winded getting to where you need to be , but its not a big deal. Ignore any info on forums or here that say food and drink is allowed inside....its not and will be confiscated. We had use of the South Club lounge and the food was understandably pretty expensive (£15 for a beef sandwhich and £5 coffee) but its great food , and easy with no queues , so worth the extra I would say . Would DEFINITELY RECOMMEND the South Club Grandstand, lower or upper level as you get to see the cars zooming the length and then the end of the very fast straight ( great overtaking in braking zone) into sharp left, straight into a tight right/left chicane , onto a quick squirt of straight before another sharp left and then still getting a view down a long straight to the hotel complex....all overlooking the superyachts in the marina itself and the fab architecture of the hotel
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Tense race - great view

North
By Simon, 05 Dec 2016
Tense race - the last for Button, Massa and Rosberg. Great view from North Grandstand - the only one at AD that we hadn't been in before. Would have been even better if the seats had been mid-corner or exit-corner rather than entry-corner as everyone stands up for the first 10 laps which obscured the distant view. Not great for overtaking (apart from Verstappen who can seemingly overtake anywhere!) but VERY up close to the action making photos easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Screen size and viewung

North
By Hasmukh Mistry, 04 Dec 2016
There needs to be more screens on the stand as some screens are not visible because of Sun.
There ought to be announcements for activities and a circuit train or bus to various villages around the circuit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Fantastic race.

West
By Andy..Chester, 03 Dec 2016
I asked bookf1.com for the seat I decided to go for in West Grand stand.Seat in section 6 was great and just what wanted.Apart from long straight you could also see the Main grandstand straight and other parts of the track.There were after race concerts and also lots of shows going on inside circuit...fantastic.Getting back to hotel in Abu Dhabi after concerts a bit hectic but shared taxi sometimes not a major problem.Really enjoyed...thanks bookf1.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Palmers 2nd visit

Marina
By Nick Palmer, 03 Dec 2016
Fantastic circuit and organisation
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Weekend

South
By Sandra D , 03 Dec 2016
Everything about the weekend was good facilities seating,food provision.The after race concerts are the icing on the cake but can be overcrowded luckily we got Golden Circle Tickets for Lionel Ritchie on Saturday night but Sunday night concert with Rihanna we couldn't get into due to overcrowded. On the whole it was a great experience and look forward to returning next year
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Great Weekend

South
By Sandra Devereux , 03 Dec 2016
Everything about the weekend was good facilities seating,food provision.The after race concerts are the icing on the cake but can be overcrowded luckily we got Golden Circle Tickets for Lionel Ritchie on Saturday night but Sunday night concert with Rihanna we couldn't get into due to overcrowded. On the whole it was a great experience and look forward to returning next year
Was this review helpful? Yes No
 
 
Overall
Viewing
Facilities
Access
 

Final Race for the 2016 Championship

West
By Sheila Walker , 03 Dec 2016
I have not given a 5 star rating because on 2 days I queued in the sun to get a drivers autograph just to be turned away because they allowed too many people to queue for the short 20 minutes sessions. I brought this to the attention of the organisers who said they would try and act on this for the other 2 days, but I did not attempt to queue again.
Also on Saturday there was no big screening for the GP3 race 1, where I was sitting. The screen was fixed after the start of F1 qualifying.
Also there was no commentary of the press conference after qualifying.
On Sunday the big screen was again not working for the GP3 final race 2.
No big screen for the GP3 final race 2.
Luckily it was fixed for the F1.
Apart from the above I enjoyed the 4 days, including the pit walk on Thursday. The West Grandstand provided good views of the straight and corners. Also by 11am the sun had moved and the stand was in shade, which was very good.
An excellent experience. Especially as Nico Rosberg won the 2016 Championship.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
We accept American Express, JCB, MasterCard, Maestro, Visa, Visa Debit/Delta, and Visa Electron, and PayPal